Wargaming => Battle for Normandy => Topic started by: Koen on 13 May 2011, 20:38:46



Title: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 13 May 2011, 20:38:46
ok, first question: I'm installing the game but it seems there are only 4 screen set-ups:

desktop
1024x768
1152x864
1280x960

no 1920x1080 which is my configuration or does 'desktop' takes this as standard?

where/how can I modify 'sounds'?
can I go into the major menu while playing? (f.e. when I want to modify the qualities of sound/image)

pro:
I immediately got the right feeling on controls and camera in my mouse, SUPER!!!!!
easy stop&go with the "escape" button
alt-tab to return to desktop

-------------------

played the demo, nice game but I do expect better graphics so I'm going to fiddle with the 'options' and play another one


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 14 May 2011, 10:03:55
Okay, will try to answer what I can:

- In the "Options" menu, select "Desktop" for resolution - that way you should get your 1920.
- What does "modify sounds" mean? What exactly do you want to do?
- While playing you can' go inot the "Options" menu, sorry.

Anything else I might help you with?


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 14 May 2011, 10:24:48
Okay, will try to answer what I can:

- In the "Options" menu, select "Desktop" for resolution - that way you should get your 1920.
- What does "modify sounds" mean? What exactly do you want to do?
- While playing you can' go inot the "Options" menu, sorry.

Anything else I might help you with?


desktop resolution it will be
modify sounds means that I can adjust volumes of f.e. 'environment' / 'gun sounds' etc...
no options while playing, check!

the little symbols above the units: can you make a list in a topic with the symbols and what they mean?

editor looks GREAT... lots of nice terrain features, lots of building etc etc etc... oh oh... I see myself returning to the editor for many hours... just like years ago with CM1


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 14 May 2011, 19:54:35
the little symbols above the units: can you make a list in a topic with the symbols and what they mean?


Is explained in the manual (pp.73-74), but I can put up something if you want it.


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 14 May 2011, 20:05:15
the little symbols above the units: can you make a list in a topic with the symbols and what they mean?


Is explained in the manual (pp.73-74), but I can put up something if you want it.


plz do


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 15 May 2011, 13:50:45
1st demo crash while plotting orders  :-\
reactivating didn't help, had to shutdown the game

artillery orders are quite 'refreshing'....  hihi .... very realistic... battlefeeling

and 2nd crash while 'saving'.....  hdbng

Florian?


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 15 May 2011, 14:33:32
Okay I'll post something soon.

No idea why the demo's crashing, but there are a couple of threads over at BFC's about people having similar problems. You might want to check those threads and see if you can find a solution.


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 15 May 2011, 16:09:42
Okay I'll post something soon.

No idea why the demo's crashing, but there are a couple of threads over at BFC's about people having similar problems. You might want to check those threads and see if you can find a solution.


ok, had my 3rd now, image freezes and I get the small round circle and the game freezes

damn, I do like this game AND I ordered it so I hope we can fix this  :-\

8 mins into the battle and crashed a 4th time so testing is for me halted now  :cry:


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 15 May 2011, 18:43:20
So the demo is about crashing all the time, no matter waht you do, correct? Any programs you''ve got running in the background? You could start with turning the non-essential ones off and try again. And don't forget the game won't run in a virtual machine environment.


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 15 May 2011, 18:47:13
So the demo is about crashing all the time, no matter waht you do, correct? Any programs you''ve got running in the background? You could start with turning the non-essential ones off and try again. And don't forget the game won't run in a virtual machine environment.


it crashed while
'saving'
giving orders
...

I only got Firefox running, no real 'running' programs
I use Windows 7 with a quite new machine who is not overheating or running difficult while playing CMBN


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 16 May 2011, 09:38:02
Seems that there is a problem with Win7 for some users, but I'm not 100% sure. Something's getting fixed and it MIGHT be the problem you have. No idea if a new demo will come out, though.


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 16 May 2011, 09:47:57
Seems that there is a problem with Win7 for some users, but I'm not 100% sure. Something's getting fixed and it MIGHT be the problem you have. No idea if a new demo will come out, though.

is it only a 'demo'problem?


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 16 May 2011, 10:04:03
Hopefully, but I'm not fully aware of every detail and would have to check it out myself. Which resolution do you play the game in? Maybe the resolution's too high and you're running out of memory - the game doesn#t work very well at high resolutions with less than 1GB on your graphics card...


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 16 May 2011, 11:21:09
Hopefully, but I'm not fully aware of every detail and would have to check it out myself. Which resolution do you play the game in? Maybe the resolution's too high and you're running out of memory - the game doesn#t work very well at high resolutions with less than 1GB on your graphics card...

I started with LOW graphics and slowly upgraded, made no difference in gameplay/speed or such (except for better looks ofcourse)

my desktop is 1920x1080 on 24"

tried again (I'm reporting to help... NOT to be the PITA... ok?) but got stuck again while watching the battle....

the PC is next to me on my ear-level so if the PC would get into a shortage of breath I would hear....  :cry:

ps: I DO like this game....

more details
3D model: better
3D texture: better
anti-alias: off (dunno what this exactly means)
high priority: on
vertical: off (dunno what this exactly means)


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 16 May 2011, 19:42:22
Hm... Try it with a lower resolution, but leave everything else the same. That the only game having problems?


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 16 May 2011, 19:57:15
Hm... Try it with a lower resolution, but leave everything else the same. That the only game having problems?


only one ever....  hdbng

as requested tried it wit both 3D models at lowest quality.... went well for 10 mins... than it froze


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 16 May 2011, 21:07:06
Tried with anything else than 1920x1080? Say, 1600x900 or even lower... Do that and see what happens if you haven't already done so.


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Mad_Russian on 18 May 2011, 02:59:10
I can't get the demo to work either. The first time the file was corrupted. The second time there were files missing and it wouldn't run.

Where can I get a clean install of the demo?

Good Hunting.

MR


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 18 May 2011, 08:12:08
I suppose you can only try the differentr download links until one download works... Probably A LOT of people downloading at the same time caused download problems - wouldn't be the first time.


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 18 May 2011, 08:52:14
I bought it online: do I understand correctly that I have 10 downloads available of the FULL game AND that the physical will also be sent to me?


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 18 May 2011, 14:29:30
If you selected that option: yes. If you selected "Download Only" (which I'm not sure is even existing) then: no. Best tactic is to donload and store somewhere else, preferably on an external storage device that isn't hooked to your machine permanently.


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 18 May 2011, 18:00:51
If you selected that option: yes. If you selected "Download Only" (which I'm not sure is even existing) then: no. Best tactic is to donload and store somewhere else, preferably on an external storage device that isn't hooked to your machine permanently.

this is the email which I recieved:
Quote
Battlefront Newsletter 17 May 2011 You are receiving this newsletter because you have subscribed to receive updates from Battlefront.com. For a one-click unsubscribe, please follow the link at the bottom. --- Hello Koen Declercq! You are receiving this email because you have pre-ordered Combat Mission - Battle for Normandy. This is a one-time notification (you are not subscribed to any mailing lists). Your Pre-Order Download is now ready! You can download your copy using various methods: 1) go to [url=http://www.battlefront.com]www.battlefront.com[/url] ([url]http://www.battlefront.com[/url]) and log into your customer account. If you have lost your login for the main site (not the forum!) go to [url=http://www.battlefront.com/lostpw]www.battlefront.com/lostpw[/url] ([url]http://www.battlefront.com/lostpw[/url]). After logging in, click on "My Account" from the top menu, then open your pre-order from the Orders tab. You can download your game by clicking on the game title. 2) if you know your license key, go to [url=http://www.battlefront.com/store]www.battlefront.com/store[/url] ([url]http://www.battlefront.com/store[/url]) and click on "Download Area". Log in and then enter your key to download 3) if you have your download confirmation email, simply click on the link in your email. You may need to log in first, and can download immediately. Your Pre-Order includes both "Download" as well as "Mail Delivery". The physical goods for the game consisting of the print manual, DVD, and Steelbook case are going to start shipping within the next 7-14 days out of our main US location. International customers: due to increased customs processing times, delivery may take up to 4 weeks unfortunately. :-( This is entirely out of our control. Please also note the important information regarding international shipments, duties and import taxes in our Knowledgebase! If you have any questions, please refer to our Knowledge Base at [url=http://www.battlefront.com/helpdesk]www.battlefront.com/helpdesk[/url] ([url]http://www.battlefront.com/helpdesk[/url]). --- View an online version of this newsletter here: [url]http://www.battlefront.com/index.php?option=com_sm2emailmarketing&task=showarchivemessage&id=64&Itemid=32[/url] ([url]http://www.battlefront.com/index.php?option=com_sm2emailmarketing&task=showarchivemessage&id=64&Itemid=32[/url]) --- Click Here to confirm that you wish to unsubscribe [url]http://www.battlefront.com/index.php?option=com_sm2emailmarketing&task=unsubscribe&email=koen.combatmission@gmail.com&code=478daec0c3f8122107083eb71d52beae[/url] ([url]http://www.battlefront.com/index.php?option=com_sm2emailmarketing&task=unsubscribe&email=koen.combatmission@gmail.com&code=478daec0c3f8122107083eb71d52beae[/url]) --- SECURITY NOTICE: Battlefront.com is NEVER going to email you with unsolicited files or attachments.



downloading...

just a hint: they tell me to go to the download area but not specific WHERE in the download area. we need to log in FIRST and then go to the 'customer downloads'


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 18 May 2011, 19:32:35
just a hint: they tell me to go to the download area but not specific WHERE in the download area. we need to log in FIRST and then go to the 'customer downloads'


Yous hould tell them that yourself - I'm just doing textures, everything else is not my business. And I refuse to care about anything else as long as I'm not a paid worker. ;D


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 18 May 2011, 19:58:57
downloaded and installed succesful


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 18 May 2011, 20:11:05
during set-up of game in full version it froze again  hdbng


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 18 May 2011, 20:38:46
just a hint: they tell me to go to the download area but not specific WHERE in the download area. we need to log in FIRST and then go to the 'customer downloads'


Yous hould tell them that yourself - I'm just doing textures, everything else is not my business. And I refuse to care about anything else as long as I'm not a paid worker. ;D

I did


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 18 May 2011, 20:53:37
If it keeps on freezing/crashing, go post an official support ticket - there's something very wrong, but unless you give them your complete system details, they won't find out.


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 18 May 2011, 21:12:06
If it keeps on freezing/crashing, go post an official support ticket - there's something very wrong, but unless you give them your complete system details, they won't find out.

http://www.battlefront.com/community/showthread.php?t=96895 (http://www.battlefront.com/community/showthread.php?t=96895)


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Mad_Russian on 19 May 2011, 03:12:32
So, did you try CMSF? I'm downloading it at the moment to see if I can run it as well.

Good Hunting.

MR


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 19 May 2011, 07:45:02
Huh, looks like your graphics drivers are simply too old. ;D Upgrade them to the latst ones and you should be fine.


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 19 May 2011, 12:16:11
Huh, looks like your graphics drivers are simply too old. ;D Upgrade them to the latst ones and you should be fine.

yeah, I'll get to it this evening....  hatsoff


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 19 May 2011, 18:05:05
downloaded/upgraded

testing........... man, DO I WANT TO GET STARTED IN THE EDITOR  hihi


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 19 May 2011, 19:03:42
So, is the game running properly now?


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 19 May 2011, 19:36:43
So, is the game running properly now?

set-up is done, playing now, will report  :salute:


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 19 May 2011, 21:07:05
60 mins playtime gone by without 1 single problem....

but now I wonder why I'm still playing beyond the 60 mins.... game undecided?

ok, game stopped 6 mins in overtime with a draw


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Mad_Russian on 21 May 2011, 05:52:19
Thanks, got a clean download tonight. In this case the fourth time seemed to be the charm.

Good Hunting.

MR


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 21 May 2011, 08:01:58
what does 'treshold' means?

am I correct to say that 'tiny' battles are impossible in CMBN?


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 21 May 2011, 09:50:46
what does 'treshold' means?


Where?  I need a bit more information what you're looking at, there are dozens of different options.

am I correct to say that 'tiny' battles are impossible in CMBN?


Depends on what you mean by "tiny". Minimum map size can be a few hundred square meters only, so I'd classify that as tiny. And you can downsize every formation to only a squad or two, so where's the problem? I suggest everyone FIRST reads the manual completely - that's gonna answer a lot, if not all, of your questions. :P


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 21 May 2011, 10:11:10
what does 'treshold' means?


Where?  I need a bit more information what you're looking at, there are dozens of different options.

am I correct to say that 'tiny' battles are impossible in CMBN?


Depends on what you mean by "tiny". Minimum map size can be a few hundred square meters only, so I'd classify that as tiny. And you can downsize every formation to only a squad or two, so where's the problem? I suggest everyone FIRST reads the manual completely - that's gonna answer a lot, if not all, of your questions. :P


'treshold' in the editor choosing units


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: FACman on 21 May 2011, 16:14:53
Dl'd flawlessly yesterday, set-up without a hitch, first scenario under my belt. What a beautiful job they have done. I love the detail they have gone to. Tanks rolling on their suspension when they stop, exhaust smoke coming out of the back, and smoke drifting across the field in the breeze, awesome. Now where's Dr Frankenstein, Im ready to face his monsters.


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 21 May 2011, 17:05:50
Dl'd flawlessly yesterday, set-up without a hitch, first scenario under my belt. What a beautiful job they have done. I love the detail they have gone to. Tanks rolling on their suspension when they stop, exhaust smoke coming out of the back, and smoke drifting across the field in the breeze, awesome. Now where's Dr Frankenstein, Im ready to face his monsters.



Dr Frankenstein isn't ready yet but I, junior Franky, am building my 1st: http://www.warandtactics.com/smf/battle-for-normandy/cmbn-koen-1-scenario/msg20234/#msg20234 (http://www.warandtactics.com/smf/battle-for-normandy/cmbn-koen-1-scenario/msg20234/#msg20234)


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 22 May 2011, 00:03:37
'treshold' in the editor choosing units


Um... Still go no idea what you mean, sorry. :-\ Could you do a screenshot or explain exactly what option you're looking at?


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 22 May 2011, 08:27:43
'treshold' in the editor choosing units


Um... Still go no idea what you mean, sorry. :-\ Could you do a screenshot or explain exactly what option you're looking at?


*mission
**parameters (allied/axis)

I think you got 100% which, as editor, you can divide into several %'s , for example 60/20/20


Quote
Quote from: Koen on Yesterday at 08:01:58
am I correct to say that 'tiny' battles are impossible in CMBN?
Quote
Depends on what you mean by "tiny". Minimum map size can be a few hundred square meters only, so I'd classify that as tiny. And you can downsize every formation to only a squad or two, so where's the problem? I suggest everyone FIRST reads the manual completely - that's gonna answer a lot, if not all, of your questions.



it did, you can indeed get tiny battles:
as example: first you need to buy a batallion, then expand the list of forces in that batallion and then delete the one you don't want to play with


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 22 May 2011, 12:13:11
*mission
**parameters (allied/axis)

I think you got 100% which, as editor, you can divide into several %'s , for example 60/20/20


Yes, that's what it means. You got 100% correct. ;D


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 22 May 2011, 12:35:57
*mission
**parameters (allied/axis)

I think you got 100% which, as editor, you can divide into several %'s , for example 60/20/20


Yes, that's what it means. You got 100% correct. ;D

  smallclap but now, what does it exactly means? treshold % in the game?

if I understand correctly and to keep it simple: when you choose 50% enemy casualties you get points for causing enemy casualties?

but what remains confusing for me is how the list and the %'s work as a whole
Code:
Enemy casualties
Enemy conditions
Enemy ammo

Friendly casualties
Friendly conditions
Friendly ammo

Friendly bonus


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 22 May 2011, 13:06:43
if I understand correctly and to keep it simple: when you choose 50% enemy casualties you get points for causing enemy casualties?


Yes and no - if you set, say 50% enemy casualties, you will receive points AND have reached one of your victory conditions. If you set it to 0% it won't count and doesn't matter how many enemies you kill.

but what remains confusing for me is how the list and the %'s work as a whole


Well, it's COMPLETELY different from CMX1. Here it comes: For every parameter you have 100% you can assign. The values don't need to be even or have to add up to 100%, you can just choose whatever you think would fit best and thus define victory conditions for each side.

Example: The Germans may win if the suffer only 25% friendly casualties while preserving at least 25% of their ammunition AND killing at least 75% of all enemies. The Americans will win if they kill 100% of all enemies while sustaining less 50% friendly casualties. The parameters I haven't included would be set to 0% and not count towards victory points.

Clear now?


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 22 May 2011, 14:08:51
if I understand correctly and to keep it simple: when you choose 50% enemy casualties you get points for causing enemy casualties?


Yes and no - if you set, say 50% enemy casualties, you will receive points AND have reached one of your victory conditions. If you set it to 0% it won't count and doesn't matter how many enemies you kill.

but what remains confusing for me is how the list and the %'s work as a whole


Well, it's COMPLETELY different from CMX1. Here it comes: For every parameter you have 100% you can assign. The values don't need to be even or have to add up to 100%, you can just choose whatever you think would fit best and thus define victory conditions for each side.

Example: The Germans may win if the suffer only 25% friendly casualties while preserving at least 25% of their ammunition AND killing at least 75% of all enemies. The Americans will win if they kill 100% of all enemies while sustaining less 50% friendly casualties. The parameters I haven't included would be set to 0% and not count towards victory points.

Clear now?


so:
it works NEXT to the 'objectives' as and additional aspect?
you do not NEED to use them?

for example:

example 1: you set as objective 'all enemy tanks' and as treashold 'enemy casualties' at 50%: this leads to a battle where the players only needs to 'kill and destroy' tanks and casualties? how does the counting goes? 50% for tanks and 50% for casualties?


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 22 May 2011, 14:33:10
Correct - these parameters five additional points but alone shouldn't be enough to win you the battle. Got no idea what counts more, though, never built a single scenario in my life and don't know that much about the editor, sorry.


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 22 May 2011, 17:39:12
Correct - these parameters five additional points but alone shouldn't be enough to win you the battle. Got no idea what counts more, though, never built a single scenario in my life and don't know that much about the editor, sorry.

10/4  :salute4:


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Koen on 29 May 2011, 18:44:43
another question:

in CM1 you knew in what kind of terrain your guys were or were sent to.... I don't see anything like this in CMBN, correct?


Title: Re: CMBN - Q&A
Post by: Earl Grey on 29 May 2011, 19:08:19
No, you have to judge that yourself. Thre isn't such abstraction anymore because everything is more detailed and becasue a squad can be in different terrain types at the same time because of the "action spot" system. But it isn't that hard to tell what kind of terrain your guys are occupying... ;D